Namibia Annual Music Awards winners


Hip hop and kwaito artist Gazza was the biggest winner at the recent Namibia Annual Music Awards (NAMAs) that were held in Walvis Bay on 28 and 29 April.

Gazza took home four awards namely, the Best Male Artist, Best Album of the Year and Best Collaboration and he  Special Recognition Award for his consistent work and achievements.

The awards were co-hosted by South African radio and TV personality Bonang Matheba and Namibian radio and TV personalities Mappz Kapofi and Uejaa Kazondunge.

Checkout the full list of winners

Best Gospel

  • Maranatha – 'In Your Presence'

Best Afrikaans

  • Bradley Anthony – 'Ruk Hom'

Best Reggae

  • Florence – 'African Child' ft Ras Sheehama

Best Shambo

  • Satlam & M-Jay – 'Odula' ft D-Kandjafa

Best Kizomba

  • Bradley Anthony – 'Amor' ft Joe-Kay

Most Socially Responsible Artist of the Year

  • Lize Ehlers

Best Song with a Message

  • N.I.A – 'Change' ft Monique English

Radio DJ of the Year

  • Lukas Nambala

Most Disciplined Artist of the Year

  • Adora

Best Live Performance of the Year

  • Maranatha – Benjamin Dube Show

Best Single

  • Sally Boss Madam – 'Natural'

Best Producer of the Year

  • Sam E Lee Jones for Gazza – Pumumu

Radio Song of the Year

  • Sally Boss Madam – 'Natural'

Best Album of the Year

  • Gazza – Pumumu

Best Male Artist of the Year

  • Gazza – Pumumu

Best Female Artist of the Year

  • Monique English – 'Since 1994'

Best Duo/Group of the Year

  • House Guru Gang – 'Father Bless Us'

Best Newcomer of the Year

  • Jaleel – 'Eversinseve'

Song of the Year

  • Young T – 'Fikulimwe'

Best Afro-pop (inclusive of Township Disco)

  • Doris – 'Boom'

Best Collaboration

  • Gazza – 'Abangani Bako' ft Emtee & Saudi

Best Damara Punch

  • T-Bozz & Staika – '//Nau !a ta ge ra sadu tsâsiba'

Best House

  • Doris – 'Jawbreaker'

Best Kwaito

  • Young T – 'Fesha'  ft Voster & Wizblack

Best Music Video

Oteya – 'All or Nothing'

Best Oviritje

  • DIOP – 'Guitar Boy'

Best R&B

  • Michael Pulse – 'When I Need Her'

Best Rap/Hip Hop

  • Jericho – 'If Only'

Best Soukous/Kwasa

  • Oteya – 'Village Boy'

Best Traditional

  • Christmas – 'Linima iiwanawa kiikala pamwe' ft Kamati

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Elemotho

NAMA2017 Special Recognition Award

  • Gazza

Pan-African Artist of the Year

  • Cassper Nyovest

Best Musical Event of the Year

  • Doctatainment - Windhoek Spring Fiesta (All White Edition)

Entertainment Journalist of the Year NBC

  • June Shimuoshili